Repurposed Photo Storage

Happy Monday Glitter fans.

My my my, it is going to be a hot one this week.  Looking like the humid-hundreds for a while here in central Iowa.  I feel very sorry for the college students that are back, as it seems like yesterday that it was me crawling to class in the heat.  It wasn’t yesterday though…sigh…and they look sooooooooooo young to me.  Did I look like that once?  I can’t remember.  See, my memory is already going.

Speaking of memories, about a week ago, I finally got the opportunity to  stop into Sheldahl Crossing.   The owners of Sheldahl Crossing are descendents of the original founders of our central Iowa community, and they specialize in antiques & collectibles.  I was on the hunt for a container to store my printed pictures.  I found what I needed and another lovely item that called to my heart , but that is a blog for another day.

Mini file box…perfect.

20130825_191906 20130825_191953

Time to give this piece some personality.

How fitting….

20130825_192119

 

Trim paper to size and Ink up the edges. Maybe even get a little carried away and do the whole thing.

20130825_192321 20130825_192509

Tim Holtz has these lovely little Word Bands.  I wanted mine to stand out  so I painted some white acrylic over the top and wiped away the excess.  The paint settles into the words and makes them stand out a bit.  Later I ended up going over this with the same Peeled Paint (green) distress ink I used on the paper.

20130825_193559

I picked this paper to coordinate, and inked it up as well.

20130825_195658

After adhering the papers, I added a few embellishments, such as the corners and the label holder.
I used my old typewriter to add the word “Photos” to the label….actually I have to give my six year old credit for that.  She is currently obsessed with the typewriter and came running after I typed  “P”.

Ribbon was attached to the sentiment before I put it on the box.

I am so happy to have a nice little home for my printed pictures.  Yay.

 

20130825_202750

 

go out and plant some glitter, stay cool, and have a lovely day .

Jaime

blowing-glitter-facebook-cover_3778

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Repurposed Photo Storage

Leave a Reply

